Sometimes you are asked to connect your Social Account to Mention. In other situations, we will ask you to activate your Accounts. But what's the difference between these two actions?

Connecting your Social Media Accounts

Connecting your Accounts is mandatory if you want to use your Social Account with our Social Media Management features: Publish, Respond and Social Account Analytics Reports. Enabling this means you are giving Mention the access and authorization needed for you to publish posts, fetch conversations and Social Media data directly in our platform.

Activating your Social Media Accounts

Activating your Social Accounts only concerns Respond. We only activate your Social Account in Respond if it was connected during the onboarding, or if you connected it from Respond directly so that you can start using the feature right away. If you connect a Social Account from Publish, the settings, or the Reports, you will have to activate it manually in Respond if you want to use it.

Activating an account in Respond allows us to generate activity and notifications based on the conversations that are related to your social account. If a new user or team member is using the platform for the first time, they may wonder why they are already receiving activity and notifications. To reduce confusion and ensure you and your Team are set up for success, we recommended completing the activation process before starting to fetch conversations.

Did this answer your question?